62: The Parental Conversational Cul-De-Sac

Since becoming a father I have noticed a worrying trend… I have absolutely nothing to talk about.Prior to the arrival of my son I used to enjoy nothing more than meeting up with mates in the pub and putting the world to rights. We would talk about all sorts of interesting and engaging things, from politics to philosophy, football to music, ethics to astrophysics, but now something significant has changed. As a case in point, the other day I was with a couple of friends and we were discussing how one of them has just got a new job working at a particle accelerator (I know!!! Amazing eh!!). And yet, rather than engaging in this fascinating discussion, I found myself distracted by a picture on my phone of my little boy smiling and all I wanted to talk about was the pros and cons of ASDA own brand nappies. My friends (neither of whom have babies) were understandably not particularly interested in this subject, leaving me stranded down an increasingly common parental conversation cul-de-sac. 

I wonder if this will continue, is this me now… A stereotypical boring dad? If so, I don’t mind, however I think I may need to warn my friends (if I don’t scare them off completely!)

Leave a Reply

