Day 53: Taking Retro to It’s Logical Conculsion…

The eagle eyed amongst you may recognise the above as a quote from The Might Boosh, the bit when Vince and Howard decide to revisit medieval chamber music in a failed attempt to stay cutting edge. 

Anyway, I was reminded of this the other day when I walked into the Oxford St branch of painfully hip retailer Urban Outfitters and saw this…

  
That’s right… It’s a cassette Walkman, and the latest album from The 1975 on cassette… Now as a child of the 80s/90s I remember cassettes well. They were THE format of my generation. I find it amazing that this flawed format is some how IN again… Makes me wonder what retro wonders my son will have to deal with when he grows up. Will smartphones make a come back and be viewed as hilariously outdated bits of archaic technology? Perhaps Betamax will make a comeback. Looking at him now, it makes me wonder just what technological advancements he will grow up with… Back when I was assiduously taping the top 40 off the radio I could hardly have dreamed of Spotify or YouTube, so I wonder what he future has in store!

Leave a Reply

