Day 39: A meditation on the first-world problems of self imposed yet practically unrealistic blogging aspirations

When I started this blog, on the day my son was born, my original intention was to use it to keep a daily record of what the first year was like, with no regard for other people who might read it… The blog was meant to just be a personal record of how life had changed, so that I could look back on it in years to come and remember the good/bad/tired old days…

However, as soon as I started writing, things rapidly changed. I think the experience of my professional life working in PR/marketing, combined with my past life as failed a stand-up comic and general show off, meant that as soon as I noticed that some people we actually reading the blog, I shifted my aspirations for the site. I quickly became more and more concerned with trying to write stuff that other people would enjoy reading… which I hope at some points I have got close to achieving? This however had another side effect, it has made me start putting even more pressure on myself to try to be funny/entertaining/engaging every single day.

Juggling a full time job, daddy-duties and blogging is quite tough, however, it is also really rewarding as for the first time in a few years I am having to use my brain to try to come up with creative ideas outside of my work. Some might say this is mad, imposing even more work on myself at this most busy of times in my life, but it is a nice outlet every day when I am on my commute to jot down my thoughts and see if I can bang out a post in the 20 or so minutes I have…

Anyway, I suppose what I am trying to say is

  1. Blogging is hard, but rewarding
  2. Please forgive my typos and errors – I am typing on a crowded train, with one hand holding my coffee and the other wrangling my iPhone
  3. If the quality level drops, please forgive me… and if some days I don’t manage to blog… well, now you can understand why.

Thanks for reading, and look forward to hearing what you think of past and future posts…FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

