Day 31: Now I am a dad everything in the news makes me worry!

Today I read in the news about the fact that the state retirement age is going to be going up again. (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/georgeosborne/12179375/Work-until-youre-75-or-even-81-under-Government-review-of-state-pension-age.html)

It has got me thinking about what age my newborn son is going to have to work till… which is quite a scary thought.

Of course, in reality I assume that in 80 years or so there will be no state pension at all (or in all likeliness no state!) so it is a bit of a pointless thing to worry about, however it has brought into alarming focus just how much more responsibility I have now that I am a dad. When reading the news suddenly things that were once too boring or grown up to care about have real meaning and import, as what happens in the future will have a real impact on the kind of life my son will be able to lead! Oh boy… there is a lot to worry about in the world…

Here is a list of the top 10 things I am concerned about today having glanced at the BBC news homepage:

  • Donald Trump
  • Russia giving weapons
  • What will happen if we leave the EU
  • What will happen if we stay in the EU
  • Meningitis
  • Rapists on match.com
  • Earthquakes
  • Tackling in rugby
  • The creation of a European “super league” changing football for ever
  • How our phones are spying on us

Perhaps I will stop reading the news!!!

 

worried_dinosaur_investor_1445195

One thought on “Day 31: Now I am a dad everything in the news makes me worry!

  1. I get super scared about my sons’ futures when I read about fracking. I really have no idea what kind of world is going to be left for them if we keep pillaging the planet this way for another decade.

    Like

Leave a Reply

