Day 1: Hospital floors make the most comfortable beds

  

 At 9.33pm last night my son was born. 

My wife was amazing, the labour was horrifically traumatic, the midwives were a seriously ‘mixed bag’, but after 7 days in hospital (a terrible experience that I am sure I will write about at length in a future blog) we now have a beautiful little boy that is completely our responsibility. 

Scary doesn’t even come close. 

Anyway, my 365 day odyssey into the terrifying uncharted waters of parenthood started with a couple of hours’ sleep here, on a hospital floor. Although the floor is cold, hard and (judging by the record of the NHS) probably crawling with infectious diseases, I don’t think I have ever slept as well… And almost certainly won’t again this year!

To be continued… 

Leave a Reply

